Here are the mask-wearing rules for every North Alabama school system

This list will be updated

Posted: Jul 28, 2021 6:49 PM
Updated: Sep 13, 2021 6:56 PM

Masks are on the minds of many as students, educators and staff head back to schools for the 2021-2022 school year.

We’ve checked with all school systems in North Alabama to learn what, if any, mask-wearing rules they’ll have this school year.

Here’s what we’ve learned. Find plans for all the school systems HERE. Both lists will be updated.

Masks Required

Albertville City Schools (Through Sept. 17)

Arab City Schools (Through Sept. 17)

Athens City Schools

Boaz City Schools

Colbert County Schools (Through Sept. 17)

Decatur City Schools

Florence City Schools 

Fort Payne City Schools (Through Oct. 1)

Huntsville City Schools

Lawrence County Schools (Through Sept. 17)

Madison City Schools

Madison County Schools

Muscle Shoals City Schools (Through Oct. 1)

Russellville City Schools

Scottsboro City Schools

Sheffield City Schools (Through Sept. 30)

Masks Optional

DeKalb County Schools

Fayetteville, TN City Schools

Franklin County Schools

Guntersville City Schools

Hartselle City Schools

Jackson County Schools

Lauderdale County Schools

Limestone County Schools

Lincoln County Schools

Marshall County Schools

Morgan County Schools

Tuscumbia City Schools

74° wxIcon
Hi: 78° Lo: 69°
Feels Like: 74°
76° wxIcon
Hi: 82° Lo: 68°
Feels Like: 76°
Mostly Cloudy
73° wxIcon
Hi: 80° Lo: 67°
Feels Like: 73°
73° wxIcon
Hi: 80° Lo: 69°
Feels Like: 73°
72° wxIcon
Hi: 77° Lo: 69°
Feels Like: 72°
WAAY Radar
WAAY Temperatures


Community Events